Rainbow All The Things!

I haven’t blogged for a while, but it doesn’t mean I haven’t been crocheting my life away whenever I get the chance.  My instagram (@indigograce_crochet) feed has been chock-full of my latest produce.

You can’t go far in Australia at the moment without seeing a rainbow or two. As the marriage equality discussion heats up the rainbow colours are everywhere, brightening up the social media news feeds of most people I’m sure – I know mine is!  As depressing as I’m finding some of the discussion and debates, crocheting as usual is helping me get through.

And so lately I’ve been asked to make a few key items in rainbow colours and I thought it was a good time to share some in the one post, just to keep those rainbows flowing in the interweb world.

 

Rainbow Mermaid Tail - Indigograce

First it was a beautiful rainbow Mermaid Tail Blanket for a little boy who LOVES all things rainbow.  How could I resist!?  Although I have made quite a few mermaid tails lately, this one was quite a challenge.  Trying to get the striping even through the body, and then also in the tail were a bit of a mathematical brain strain for me.  The tail was re-done several times to get it right, and then to my horror I ran out of the red at the last 5 stitches of it! Gah!  It all worked out very well in the end and I was pretty happy with the result.

Rainbow Scarf - indigograceI was then asked to make a rainbow scarf for a friend which I was particularly pleased with the way it turned out.  Though I must say the fringing turned out to be the hardest part!

The rainbow PussyHat was a real treat, and I was very tempted to keep it myself.  The trick with this one was working out the number of rows, and striping so it would be even – these beanies are made as one long rectangular piece and then sewn together so I needed to get the striping on the two sides even for when it was folded and sewn.  Tricky!Rainbow Pussyhat Selfie - indigograce

Rainbow Coffee Cosy - indigograce

Finally my last few days have been taken up with Rainbow Coffee Cosies!! Who knew such a tiny thing could be so popular! I was originally asked to make one for my partner. After making two that I was unhappy with, I realised I was doing it the hard way, so I tried them ‘in the round’ instead.  I now have a great pattern going that tapers just right for most reusable (or disposable) coffee cups.  I’ll post the pattern in a few days once I’ve completed my next batch of cosies.  Stay tuned!Rainbow Coffee Cosy wip 2 - indigograce

The hardest part about all this rainbow goodness from a crafting perspective it that the colour changes all require the dreaded ending off! I have decided that my ultimate find would be self-striping rainbow yarn.  If you find some let me know!!

peace, love and rainbows,

indigograce x

Here is an album collection of my rainbow work – RAINBOW ALL THE THINGS!!

2 thoughts on “Rainbow All The Things!

  1. I know what you mean about ending off stripes. A real pain aren’t they! Love your rainbow stripes ❤️

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

Leave a comment